REPUBLIC OF BOTSWANA



GOVERNMENT GAZETTE

EXTRAORDINARY

Vol. XXXV, No. 23	GABORONE	29th April, 1997		
y	CONTENTS			
Appointment of Election Officers — C	G.N. No. 146 of 1997	978—979		
The following Su	applement is published with this issue of th	e Gazette —		
	Prices, and Other Charges (Petroleum Prices, 31 of 1997			

Government Notice No. 146 of 1997

LOCAL GOVERNMENT (DISTRICT COUNCILS) ACT (Cap. 40:01)

LOCAL COUNCILS (CONDUCT OF ELECTIONS) REGULATIONS (Cap. 40:01) (Sub. Leg.)

Appointment of Election Officers

NOTICE is hereby given that in accordance with regulation 3 of the Local Councils (Conduct of Elections) Regulations, the following persons have been appointed election officers for the purposes of the bye-elections to be held on the 3rd day of May, 1997 at the various polling districts indicated —

KUDUMATSE POLLING DISTRICT

Assistant Returning Officer

K.K. Mogasha

Polling Station Presiding Officer Polling Officers Kudumatse Kgotla B. Koontse L. Letsweletse Dovedale Primary School M. Bagwasi B. Champane Kudumatse Primary School M. Lekoa M.T. Letshwenyo Dovedale Kgotla D. Serero S.M. Tsoebebe Greanear Farm J.C. Mackenzie G.R. Koontse

GROOTLAGTE POLLING DISTRICT

Assistant Returning Officers

D.O. Modisagape E.B. Moabi

 Polling Station
 Presiding Officer
 Polling Officers

 Grootlagte Primary School
 M. Mogale
 P. Gaorekwe B. Maniki

 Farm 142
 B.P. Kgomela
 D. Mbayi M. Segokgo

 Farm 152
 J. Modikwa
 K. Bethel I. Setlhako

TUBU POLLING DISTRICT

Polling Station Presiding Officer Polling Officers Qomoqao Cattle Crush M.V. Mangole B. Belime Tubu Primary School S. Ntebele L. Dube M. Thela Xara Cattle Crush P. Ncaagae A. Hange Caa Cattle Crush (VDC) S. Mokgosi O. Mmusinyane

MOLALATAU POLLING DISTRICT

Polling Station Presiding Officer Polling Officers

Molalatau Primary School T.T. Tautsagae B. Mothobi M. Legadiko

Molalatau Health Post B.S. Seshika K. Tebogo

M.P. Mashoja

Lekgolwe Mobile Stop M.S. Mphale G.O. Mmopelwa M.M. Mabina

KARENG POLLING DISTRICT

Assistant Returning Officers

E. Raletobana D. Madimabe M. Monguda

Polling Station Presiding Officer Polling Officers

Kareng Primary School I.M. Rantsudu S. Kehemetswe H. Modisane

Makukung Primary School M. Ncube G.M. Tshimololo V.O. Onkabetse

BORAKALALO POLLING DISTRICT

Polling Station Presiding Officer Polling Officers

Borakalalo Primary School U.M. Maswibilili L. Mongwa N. Tsalaile

Teba Offices T. Mophuting B. Botite
M. Rampadi

MOSANTA NORTH POLLING DISTRICT

Assistant Returning Officers

E. Letamo N. Molefi

Polling Station Presiding Officer Polling Officers

Segale Primary School R.M. Oaitse M. Moruakgomo N.K. Mosimakoko

Makakatlela Dam D. Valela K. Mmonatau C. Koitsiwe

DATED this 24th day of April, 1997.

S.O. RATHEDI, Local Government Election Supervisor. Statutory Instrument No. 31 of 1997

CONTROL OF GOODS, PRICES AND OTHER CHARGES ACT (Cap 43:07)

CONTROL OF GOODS, PRICES, AND OTHER CHARGES (PETROLEUM PRICES) REGULATIONS, 1997

(Published on 29th April, 1997)

ARRANGEMENT OF REGULATIONS

REGULATION

- 1. Citation
- Interpretation
- 3. Retail prices of petroleum products
- 4. Revocation of S.I. 85 of 1996

IN EXERCISE of the powers conferred on him by section 3 of the Control of Goods, Prices and Other Charges Act, the Minister of Commerce and Industry hereby makes the following Regulations —

1. These Regulations may be cited as the Control of Goods, Prices and Other Charges (Petroleum Prices) Regulations, 1997, and shall come into operation on 1st May, 1997.

commencement Interpretation

Citation and

2. In these Regulations "levy" has the same meaning as in the Control of Goods (Petroleum Products) (Levy) Regulations.

interpretation

3. No person shall sell by retail, either in person or through an agent or employee —

Retail prices of petroleum products

- (a) at any place specified in the first column of the Schedule hereto, the petroleum products specified at the head of the second, third, fourth or fifth column of the said Schedule, at a price exceeding the amount per litre specified in relation to that place in that column, which amount shall include —
 - (i) in respect of petrol, levies of 0,5 and 8 thebe per litre respectively, payable in respect of the National Petroleum Fund and the Motor Vehicle Insurance Fund, and a levy of 3 thebe per litre in respect of the Road Fund;

 in respect of diesel, levies of 0,3 and 8 thebe per litre respectively, payable in respect of the National Petroleum Fund and the Motor Vehicle Insurance Fund, and a levy of 3 thebe per litre in respect of the Road Fund;

(b) at any place specified in the first column of the said Schedule, illuminating paraffin for domestic use, in quantities of a litre or less, at a price not proportionate to that specified in relation to that place in the third column of the Schedule; or

(c) at any place not specified in the first column of the said Schedule, the petroleum product at the head of the —

- (i) second column of the Schedule at a price exceeding by more than 12 thebe per litre;
- (ii) third column of the Schedule at a price exceeding by more than 11 thebe per litre;
- fourth column of the Schedule at a price exceeding by (iii) more than 11.7 thebe per litre;
- fifth column of the Schedule at a price exceeding by (iv) more than 12 thebe per litre, the price at which the product was delivered to him.

Revocation of S.I. 85 of 1996

The Control of Goods, Prices and Other Charges (Petroleum Prices) Regulations, 1996, are hereby revoked.

SCHEDULE (Prices in thebe per litre)

	Leaded Petrol	Paraffin	Diesel	Unleaded Petrol
Artesia	146	122	136	143
Bathoen	143	120	134	140
Bobonong	149	124	138	146
Chobe	157	132	146	154
Dibete +2km	148	124	138	145
Ditshegwane	147	123	137	144
Foley	147	123	136	144
Francistown	147	123	136	144
Gaborone	144	120	134	141
Goodhope	144	120	134	141
Gweta	152	128	141	149
Hildavale	143	120	134	140
Jwaneng	146	122	136	143
Kanye	144	120	134	141
Kasane	157	132	146	154
Kazungula	157	132	146	154
Kgale	144	120	134	141
Kgakgwe	145	121	135	142
Lerala	151	126	140	148
Letlhakane	152	127	141	149
Letlhakeng	147	123	137	144
Lobatse	143	120	134	140
Lose	150	125	139	147
Machaneng	151	127	140	148
Makoro	149	124	138	146
Mahalapye	150	124	139	147
Martinsdrift	151	126	140	148
Maun	157	132	146	154
Matsitama	148	123	137	145
Metlojane	145	121	135	142
Mmadinare	147	123	137	144
Mochudi	144	120	134	141
Moeng	151	126	140	148
Molepolole	146	122	136	143
Mopipi	152	128	141	149

Moshaneng	145	121	135	142
Moshupa	145	121	135	142
Nata	151	127	140	148
Ngoma	159	134	148	156
Orapa	152	127	141	149
Otse	144	120	134	141
Oxeham Ranch	150	125	139	147
Palapye	149	124	138	146
Palla Road	148	124	138	145
Pandamatenga	155	130	143	152
Pilane	144	120	134	141
Pilikwe	149	124	138	146
Pitsane	144	120	134	141
Ramokgwebana	149	124	138	146
Ramotswa	144	120	134	141
Saambou	150	125	139	147
Sebina	148	123	137	145
Sefhophe	147	123	137	144
Selebi - Phikwe	147	123	136	144
Seleka	150	125	139	147
Sekoma	147	124	137	144
Serowe	150	125	139	147
Serule	147	123	136	144
Shabani	147	123	136	144
Shashe	148	123	137	145
Sherwood Ranch	150	125	139	143
Shoshong	151	126	140	148
Sikwane	146	122	136	143
Sunnyside	150	125	140	147
Thamaga	146	122	136	143
Tonota	148	123	137	145
Tsau	160	135	149	157
Tshesebe	149	124	138	146
Tutume	150	126	139	140
Usutu	151	126	140	147
Zanzibar	149	124	138	146
			150	1-4()

MADE this 29th day of April, 1997.

D.N. MAGANG, Acting Minister of Commerce and Industry.

L2/7/216 IV