

THE

OFFICIAL GAZETTE

OF THE

COLONY AND PROTECTORATE OF KENYA.

(SPECIAL ISSUE.)

Published under the Authority of His Excellency the Governor of the Colony and Protectorate of Kenya.

Vol. XXIX.-No. 1126]

NAIROBI, February 9, 1927.

[PRICE 50 CENTS]

Registered as a Newspaper at the G. P. O.

TABLE OF CONTENTS.

						Œ		PAGE
Govt.	Notice	No.	78-The Legislative Council Ordinance-Amendment of					
			Government Notice No. 65	**		• •	• •	171
,,	23	,,	79-The Legislative Council Ordinance	-Notice	of Polls		¥0.¥	171

Colony and Protectorate of Kenya.

district and ship of the state of the state of

But To Alter I want

GOVERNMENT NOTICE No. 78

THE LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL ORDINANCE

(Chapter 24 of the Revised Edition)

AND

THE REVISED EDITION OF THE LAWS (OPERATION) ORDINANCE, 1926.

HIS EXCELLENCY the Acting Governor has been pleased to amend Government Notice No. 65 dated January 27th, 1927, and published in the Official Gazette of January 28th, 1927, by the deletion of that part of the Notice which refers to Electoral Area No. 9, Kenya.

Nairobi,

February 9th, 1927.

G. A. S. NORTHCOTE,

Acting Colonial Secretary.

GOVERNMENT NOTICE No. 79.

THE LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL ORDINANCE

(Chapter 24 of the Revised Edition)

AND

THE REVISED EDITION OF THE LAWS (OPERATION) ORDINANCE, 1926.

UNDER the powers vested in the Governor by section 13, Schedule III, of the Legislative Council Ordinance (Chapter 24 of the Revised Edition), I, Edward Brandis Denham, Companion of the Most Distinguished Order of Saint Michael and Saint George, hereby give notice that a Poll will take place in the undermentioned Electoral Area on the 26th of February, 1927.

The names of the several candidates and of their Proposers, Seconders and Supporters, and places at which a Poll will be taken and the portion of the Electoral Area alloted to each Polling Station are set forth below.

Nairobi,

February 9th, 1927.

E. B. DENHAM.

Acting Governor.

ELECTORAL AREA No. 9 Kenya. KENYA.

Government and concept

Candidate.

1. Edward Maurice Vaughan Kenealy.

Proposer.

James Hamilton Twigg.

Seconder. See The TOO MVITALES SEE SEE

E. A. Evans

Supporters.

- 1. M. D. le Poer Trench.
- 2. A. Herd.
- 3. L. T. Beverley.
- 4. Logan Hook.
- 5. J. W. H. D. Tyndall
- 6. N. P. Tucker.
- 7. C. Luxford.

Candidate.

2. Henry Lawrence Norman Beynon.

Proposer.

Philip Wheatley.

Seconder.

Renie Gascoigne.

Supporters.

- 1. A. C. Anstey.
- 2. J. E. MacDonogh,
- 3. J. A. Pollock.
- 4. P. A. Mackenzie-Ashton.
- 5. J. A. Engelbrecht.
- 6. K. T. Gooch.
- 7. Mrs. D. W. Inglis.

Polling Station No. 1.

Senior Commissioner's Office, Nyeri.

Portion of Electoral Area.

Commencing at the junction of the Northern Chania River with the Aberdare Forest boundary; thence by that river down-stream to its junction with the Tana or Nairobi River, provided that the whole of the Nyeri Township shall be included in this area; thence by a straight line north-easterly to the summit of Mount Kenya; thence by a straight line south-easterly to the source of the Rongai River; thence by the river down-stream to the northeasterly corner of L.O. 1244; thence by the north-easterly boundaries of L.O. 1244 and 1243; thence by the northern boundary of L.O. 1243 to the point where it intersects the Uaso Nyero River; thence following the Uaso Nyero River down-stream to its intersection with the northern boundary of Farm L.O. No. 2578; thence northerly by part of the eastern boundary of L.O. No. 2579 to its north-eastern corner; thence in a westerly direction along the northern boundaries of Farms L.O. Nos. 2579, 2580, 2581, 2582, and 2618 to its north-western corner; thence by part of the north-eastern boundary of Outspan L.O. No. 2619 to its northern corner; thence by the north-western

boundary of the latter portion to its western corner; thence by the northern boundaries of L.O. Nos. 2620, 2621, 2622, 2623, 2625 and 2627 to its intersection with the Mutara River forming the western boundary of the last portion; thence by that river down-stream to its intersection with the boundary of Electoral Area No. 6 in the Aberdare Forest Reserve; thence south-easterly along this boundary to the point of commencement.

Polling Station No. 2.

Police Station, Nanyuki.

Portion of Electoral Area.

Commencing at the point where the northern boundary of L.O. 1243 intersects the Uaso Nyero River; thence following the northern boundary of Polling Area No. 1 in an easterly direction to the summit of Mount Kenya; thence by a straight line north-easterly to the south-easterly corner of L.O. No. 2823 on the Marania or Siolo River; thence by that river down-stream to its junction with the Uaso Nyero River; thence by that river up-stream to the point of commencement.

Polling Station No. 3.

Resident Commissioner's Office, Rumuruti.

Portion of Electoral Area.

Commencing at a point where the southern boundary of L.O. No. 2564 intersects the Uaso Nyero River; thence following the Uaso Nyero down-stream to the most easterly corner of L.O. 2379; thence by the north-easterly boundary of that portion to its most northerly corner; thence by a straight line westerly to the mouth of the Ol Arabel River on Lake Baringo and the most northerly point of Electoral Area No. 6; thence southwards by the north-easterly boundary of Electoral Area No. 6 to a point where it intersects the boundary of Polling Area No. 1; thence along the boundary easterly to the point of commencement.