

## THE KENYA GAZETTE

Published under the Authority of His Excellency the Governor of the Colony and Protectorate of Kenya (Registered as a Newspaper at the GPO)

Vol. LXII—No. 30

NAIROBI, 11th June, 1960

Price Sh. 1

GAZETTE NOTICE NO 2725

## **BIRTHDAY HONOURS LIST, 1960**

HER MAJESTY THE QUEEN has been graciously pleased to approve the following appointments —

Knight Bachelor

Ralph Windham, Justice of Appeal, H M Court of Appeal for Eastern Africa

Companion of the Most Distinguished Order of St Michael and St George

Richard Edmonde Luyt, Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Labour, Social Security and Adult Education

Commander of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire Edgar Vernon Whitcombe, Unofficial, Director, Barclay's Bank (DC & O)

Kenneth Duncan Simpson MacOwan, Director of Veterinary Services

Officer of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire

(Mrs.) Agnes Ramsay Shaw, Unofficial Constituency Elected Member of Legislative Council for Nyanza

William Pultrey, Commissioner of Mines and Geology Philip Fletcher, Headmaster, Prince of Wales School, Nairobi (Retired)

Charles Ruickbie Davidson, Unofficial, Planning and Development Adviser to the City Council of Nairobi

Member of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire
William Alexander Doust, Senior Laboratory Technologist,
Kenya Medical Department

Shambushanker Jathashanker Vyas, Unofficial, President, Social Service League

Moipei ole Kodonyo, President, Kajiado African Court

Dolarrai Hiralal Avashia, Chief Clerk, Supreme Court (Civil Side), Nairobi

(Mrs) Jean Le Mesurier Lavers, Principal, St Andrews Preparatory School, Turi

William Kimutai Martin, Secretary/Treasurei of the Kipsigis African District Council

Impenal Service Order

James Arnold Sweeney, Assistant Commissioner of Police

British Empire Medal

lbrahım Hassan, Senior Sergeant of Dubas (Tribal Police), Mandera

Colonial Police Medal for Mentorious Service Searle John Barfield Page, Superintendent of Police Munyambu s/o Kavindu Police Sergeant (No 3953) Ian Nigel Dundas, Senior Superintendent of Police Ieremiah Obonyo Ongala, Assistant Inspector of Police

GAZETTE NOTICE NO 2726

 $(HA \ 10/1A)$ 

## AWARD OF BADGES OF HONOUR

THE Governor has been pleased to make the following awards of the Badge of Honour —

Gufu Soia, Chief, Northern Province
Tajeu ole Ngasame, Retired Veterinary Assistant
Gurdas Ram Saini, Inspector of Works, Ministry of Works
Nyika Ngwedeli, Retired Tribal Police Sergeant, Teita
Christopher Mwashori, Health Assistant, Teita
Jagan Nath, Inspector of Water Supplies, Ministry of Works
Joao Batista De Francisco Xavier Torcato, Office Superinten-

dent, Kenya Police
Thome Francisco Pereira, Accounts Officer, Kenya Police
Contantine Michael Cantounias, Yard Supervisor, Ministry of

Works

Erasto Odame, Dresser, Medical Department Munyua Kinanjui, Head Officer Messenger, Legal Department Napthali Nyangena Nprototo, Dresser, Medical Department,

South Nyanza
Ariga Ombonyo, President, Manga African Court, South
Nyanza

Theodore Sambula s/o Mumia, Chief, North Nyanza Jonathan Inwani, Forest Ranger, North Nyanza

Joseph Magige, Chief South Nyanza Solomon Owango, Forest Supervisor, South Nyanza African District Council

Gabriel Nalyanya, Field Assistant, Agricultural Department, Elgon Nyanza

Avedi Ababu Filimon, Hospital Assistant, Medical Department, Elgon Nyanza

Mohamed Sharif, Retired Headman, Ministry of Works, Central Nyanza Elijah arap Cheruiyot, Field Assistant, Agricultural Depart-

ment, Kericho Charles Mosongo Okioma, Clerk, Ministry of Works, South

Nyanza Chebot arap Chemitie, Chief, Elgeyo District

Kısang Kırop Chief, Elgeyo District
Kısang Kırop Chief, Elgeyo District
Morogo Chebet, Chief Barıngo District
Kıpchumba arap Korır, Chief, Nandı District
Chesang Ruto, Chief, Barıngo District
Lesnit Lesotia, Chief, Samburu District
David Adams Thuku, Clerk, Samburu District

David Adams Thuku, Clerk, Samburu District
Leonard Waithaka Waruingi, Clerk, Samburu District
Were Osewo, Field Assistant Agricultural Department
Kitheka Muthwii, Chief Warder, Kenya Prison Service
Charles Karuga Koinange, Chief, Kiambu District
Migwe Githua, President African Court of Appeal, Kiambu
Waichunga Thaitaka, Sergeant Major, Tribal Police, Nyeri
Waguto Gate, Station Headman, Fort Hall

Reuel Mwangi, Chief, Fort Hall District Gurchuran Singh, Inspector of Works, Ministry of Works Githika Mutwa, Retired Road Foreman, Fort Hall African District Council

Jacobo Thuo, Retired Court Elder, Fort Hall
Ulochu Agwanda, Sub Permanent Way Inspector, EAR & H
Muchina Kiyukia, Office Boy, EAP & T
Ali Koemba s/o Sonyero, Headman, EAR & H
Orende Obhada, Artisan EAR & H

Nairobi, 11th June, 1960

W F COUTTS, Chief Secretary

[713