

# THE KENYA GAZETTE

Published under the Authority of His Excellency the Governor of the Colony and Protectorate of Kenya
(Registered as a Newspaper at the G.PO.)

Vol. LXIV-No 23

NAIROBI, 2nd June, 1962

Price Sh 1

602

602

# **CONTENTS**

Birthday	Honours	List,	1962		
Award of	the Badg	e of I	Ionour		

GAZEITE NOTICE NO 2582

## BIRTHDAY HONOURS LIST, 1962

#### KENYA GOVERNMENT

HER MAJESTY THE QUEEN has been graciously pleased to approve the following appointments —

Knight Commander of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire

Fric Newton Griffith-Jones, Acting Governor

Companion of the Most Distinguished Order of Saint Michael and Saint George

Denis Whitfield Hall, Provincial Commissioner, Coast Province Jack Jesson Adie, Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Labour

Commander of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire Harold Travis, Mayor, Nairobi City Council

Officer of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire
Arthur Abraham Haller, Chairman and General Manager, Maize
Marketing Board

Geoffrey Leader Bellhouse Mayor of Nakuru

Joseph Pascal Nabwana, Chairman, African District Council, Elgon Nyanza

Gordon Armstrong Skipper, District Commissioner, South Nyanza District

Member of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire Dorothy Mary Foster Pickford, Unofficial, Councillor of EA Women's League, Founder Member of the Child Welfare Society of Kenya

Anacreon Cloete, Unofficial, recently retired from Eldoret County Council

Robin Giffard, Lind Consolidation Officer, Nyeri District Ethel Lucy Feast, Medical Department, 1/c Records Section Israc Reuben Nderitu, Secretary, Nyeri African District Council William Muir, Divisional Forestry Officer

### British Empire Medal

Richard Mwangeka, Senior Chief, Werugha Location, Taita District

Colonial Police Medal for Meritorious Service
Thomas Arthur Bedford, Chief Inspector of Police
John Alexander Sherrard-Smith, Senior Superintendent
William Alexander Milne, Assistant Commissioner
Cyril Augustine Collins, Chief Inspector
M'Utongori Masana, Sergeant
Mwateni Kadzungu, Sergeant

Queen's Medal for Chiefs (Silver Gilt) Jonathan Barasa, Senior Chief, Elgon Nyanza

Queen's Medal for Chiefs (Silver)

Anania Chamfwe Masinzi, Pakia, Chief, Ngao Location

Julius Mwemba s/o Mwai, Chief, Laikipia District

Joel Kiptenai arap Malel Chief, Kosirai Location

Imana s/o Ebei, Sub-Chief, Turkana District

Kwia s/o Achuka, Sub Chief, Turkana District

Government House,

Nairobi

2nd June, 1962

GAZETTE NOTICE NO 2583

(H A 10/1A, Vol II)

## AWARD OF THE BADGE OF HONOUR

THE Acting Governor has been pleased to make the following wards of the Badge of Honour —

Juma bin Omar, Senior Tax Clerk, Administration, Isiolo District

Chumar s/o I man, Sub-Chief, Administration, Turkana District

Lochodo s/o Lochkume, Sub Chief Administration Turkana District

Joseph Dadye, Veterinary Scout, Veterinary Department, Malindi

Gideon Mukando s/o Farah, Chief Administration, Kihfi District

Moses M Buni, Field Assistant, Department of Agriculture, Coast Province

Joaquim Joao Hipolito Cassino Mascarenhas, Office Assistant, Immigration Department, Mombasa

Nathaniel Mbele, Chief, Administration, Taveta Sub District of the Taita District

Abdulla Mkubwa bin Ahmed, Office Messenger, Administration, Lamu District

Robert Stanley Mwendar, Community Development Assistant, Coast Province

Pius Musyoki Nzuba, Chief, Administration, Machakos District Jonathan Mutune Mbubi Chief, Administration, Kitui District

Kipopo ole Loisa, Chief, Administration, Kajiado District

Meshack Micheke Honge, Principal Officer, Prisons Department, Nairobi

Muranga Kamau, Printing Assistant, Ministry of Lands, Surveys and Town Planning, Nairobi

Wellington Oyuga, Hospital Assistant, Ministry of Health and Housing, Nairobi

Miss Tamanyole Kine Priscila, Dresser, Ministry of Health and Housing, Nairobi

Karanja Waihenya, Office Messenger, Ministry of Tourism, Forests and Wild Life

Karanja Ndegwa, Water Fitter, Municipal Council of Nakuru Mfupi Nawoi, Chief, Administration, Samburu District

Omia s/o Masinde, Headman, Ministry of Agriculture and Animal Husbandry, Nakuru District

Thogo Wangara, Headman, Department of Education, Nakuru District

Joel Maululwa Wambwa, Process Server, Judicial Department, Uasin Gishu District

Willie Kiato arap Chirchir, Chief, Administration, Elgeyo-Marakwet District

Mwalimu Ali Godoro, Chief, Administration, Thika District

Anampio M'Igwara, Chief, Administration, Meru District Jotham Gacheru s/o Buri, Chief, Administration, Central Province

James Paul Nyaga, Secretary, African District Council, Embu

Samson Kamanda Matindi, Process Server, Judicial Department, Thika District

Johana Otieno Gumo, Senior Assistant Supervisor, Approved Schools, Central Province

Kanuti Okwaro s/o Achieng, Chief, Administration, Central Nyanza District

Marahus Mokuor, Sub-Chief, Administration, Kish District

Samwel Naibei, President (retired), African Court, Elgon Nyanza District

Gerishom Khatete, Chief, Administration, North Nyanza District

Mattayo Onyango, Teacher, African Teachers' Service, Central

Nyanza District

Jacobo Sugura, Elder, African Court of Appeal, Flgon Nyanza

District
Alexandra Antonia Gervasio Rego, Draughtsman, Ministry of

Works and Communications, Nyanza Province

John William Umara, Locomotive Driver, East African Railways and Harbours Administration

Wainaina s/o Marimbe, Store Packer, East African Posts and Telecommunications Administration

Kibe s/o Kabuu, Office Messenger, East African Common Services Organization

Wilson Opuji s/o Asingo, Artisan, East African Railways and Harbours Administration

Macharia s/o Kirungi Technical Officer, East African Posts and Telecommunications Administration

Kinothia s/o Gachanga, Artisan, East African Railways and Harbours Administration

Ndutha Kamau, Head Messenger, East African Posts and Telecommunications Administration

Leo Sumba s/o Odowaro, Hendman, East African Railways and Harbours Administration

Okume s/o Sewe, Head Messenger, East African Posts and Telecommunications Administration

Nairobi, 2nd June, 1962 F A LOYD,
Permanent Secretary
Governor s Office