

Prop. New York, Street M.



THE KENYA GAZETTE

Published by Authority of the Republic of Kenya

(Registered as a Newspaper at the G.P.O.)

Vol. LXXVI-No. 31

NAIROBI, 6th JULY, 1974

Price: Sh. 2

GAZETTE NOTICE NO. 2139

LITERACY QUALIFICATIONS FOR CANDIDATES SEEKING NOMINATIONS TO LOCAL GOVERNMENT ELECTIONS-1974

PURSUANT to regulations 53, 53A, 53B and in accordance with paragraph 3 (1) (e) of the 5th Schedule to the Local Government Regulations, 1963, it is notified for general information that the Minister for Local Government has specified, with immediate effect, that Kiswahili shall be the official language for:—

The City Council of Nairobi.

All Municipal Councils.

All Town Councils.

Candidates seeking nominations for election as councillors to these classes of local authorities will therefore be required to pass literacy test in Kiswahili.

The following Language Committees have been set up with immediate effect to conduct the literacy test for the local authorities listed here below.

LIST OF LOCAL AUTHORITIES AFFECTED AND LANGUAGE LITERACY COMMITTEES

- 1. Nairobi City Council
 - 1. Provincial Commissioner, Nairobi-Chairman.
 - 2. Provincial Education Officer, Nairobi.
 - 3. G. Musembi, Deputy Secretary, Ministry of Local Government.
 - 4. Peter Itebete, Kenya Institute of Administration.
 - 5. A. J. Mumanyi, Ministry of Information and Broadcasting.

2. Nyeri Municipal Council

- 1. Provincial Commissioner, Central Province-Chairman.
- 2. Provincial Education Officer.
- 3. Provincial Local Government Officer, Nyeri.
- 4. Provincial Director of Social Services, Nyeri.
- 5. Principal, Kagumo Teachers Training College.

3. Thika Municipal Council

- 1. District Commissioner, Kiambu-Chairman.
- 2. S. Gitonga, Deputy Town Clerk, Nairobi.
- 3. Headmaster, Thika High School.
- 4. B. N. Wabule, Ministry of Local Government.

- 4. Karatina Town Council
 - 1. District Commisioner, Nyeri-Chairman.
 - 2. District Education Officer, Nyeri.
 - 3. G. Kihara, Town Clerk, Nyeri.
 - 4. Headmaster, Tumutumu Secondary School.
- 5. Murang'a Town Council
 - 1. District Commissioner, Murang'a-Chairman.
 - 2. District Education Officer, Murang'a.
 - 3. L. K. Njuguna, Town Clerk, Thika.
 - 4. Headmaster, Murang'a Secondary School,
- 6. Kiambu Town Council
 - 1. District Officer I, Kiambu-Chairman.
 - 2. District Education Officer, Kiambu.
 - 3. E. M. W. Opi, Ministry of Local Government.
 - 4. Headmaster, Kanunga Secondary School.
- 7. Nyahururu Town Council
 - 1. District Commissioner, Nyandarua-Chairman.
 - 2. District Education Officer, Nyandarua.
 - 3. J. P. W. Abwao, Ministry of Local Government.
 - 4. Headmaster, Nyahururu High School.

8. Nakuru Municipal Council

- 1. Provincial Commissioner, Rift Valley Province-Chairman.
- 2. Provincial Education Officer.
- 3. Provincial Local Government Officer.
- 4. Provincial Director of Social Services.
- 9. Eldoret Municipal Council
 - 1. District Commissioner, Uasin Gishu-Chairman.
 - 2. District Education Officer, Uasin Gishu.
 - 3. J. Momanyi, Town Clerk, Nakuru.
 - 4. Headmaster, Kapsabet Secondary School.
- 10. Kitale Municipal Council
 - 1. District Commissioner, Trans Nzoia-Chairman.
 - 2. District Education Officer, Trans Nzoia.
 - 3. R. Asembo, Town Clerk, Eldoret.
 - 4. Principal, Kitale Teachers Training College.

818

THE KENYA GAZETTE

- 11. Kericho Town Council
 - 1. District Commissioner, Kericho-Chairman.
 - 2. District Education Officer.
 - 3. Principal, Kericho Teachers Training School.
 - 4. P. Anassi, Town Clerk, Kisii.
- 12. Nanyuki Town Council
 - 1. District Commissioner, Laikipia-Chairman.
 - 2. District Education Officer, Laikipia.
 - 3. G. Mwobobia, Town Clerk, Meru.
 - 4. Headmaster, Nanyuki Secondary School.
- 13. Kakamega Municipal Council
 - 1. Provincial Commissioner, Kakamega, Chairman.
 - 2. Provincial Education Officer.
 - 3. Provincial Local Government Officer.
 - 4. Headmaster, Kakamega High School.
- 14. Bungoma Town Council
 - 1. District Commissioner, Bungoma-Chairman.
 - 2. District Education Officer, Bungoma.
 - 3. C. B. Wasige, Town Clerk, Kakamega.
 - 4. Headmaster, Bungoma Secondary School.
- 15. Webuye Town Council
 - 1. District Commissioner, Kakamega-Chairman.
 - 2. District Education Officer, Kakamega.
 - 3. B. Wambayi, Town Clerk, Kitale.
 - 4. Headmistress, Lugulu High School.

16. Kisumu Municipal Council

- 1. Provincial Commissioner, Nyanza Province-Chairman.
- 2. Provincial Education Officer.
- 3. Provincial Local Government Officer.
- 4. Headmaster, Kisumu Boys High School.
- 17. Kisii Town Council
 - 1. District Commissioner-Chairman.
 - 2. District Education Officer.
 - 3. Ojuang K'Ombudo, Town Clerk, Kisumu.
 - 4. Principal, Kisii Teachers Training College.

- 18. Embu Municipal Council
 - 1. Provincial Commissioner, Eastern Province-Chairman.
 - 2. Provincial Education Officer.
 - 3. Provincial Local Government Officer.
 - 4. Headmaster, Kangeru Secondary School.
- 19. Meru Municipal Council
 - 1. District Commissioner, Meru-Chairman.
 - 2. District Education Officer.
 - 3. Headmaster, Meru Teachers Training College.
 - 4. A. M. R. Odipo, Ministry of Local Government.
- 20. Machakos Town Council
 - 1. District Commissioner-Chairman.
 - 2. District Education Officer.
 - 3. F. W. Kagwe, Assistant Town Clerk, Nairobi.
 - 4. Principal, Machakos Teachers Training College.
- 21. Mombasa Municipal Council
 - 1. Provincial Commissioner, Chairman.
 - 2. Provincial Education Officer.
 - 3. J. Kayila, Ministry of Local Government.
 - 4. Principal, Shanzu Teachers Training College.
- 22. Malindi Town Council
 - 1. District Officer, Malindi-Chairman.
 - 2. District Education Officer.
 - 3. N. M. Adembesa, Town Clerk, Mombasa.
 - 4. Headmaster, Malindi Secondary School.

Persons who served as Councillors in the City Council of Nairobi, all municipal councils and town councils and whose term of office in these local authorities expired on 30th June, 1974, in accordance with Act No. 5 of 1972, The Local Government Regulations (Amendment) Act, 1972, are exempted from the Language Literacy Tests.

> A. J. OMANGA, Permanent Secretary/ Director of Local Government Elections.