

# THE K GAZEFFE

Published by Authority of the Republic of Kenya

(Registred th's Newspaper at the G.P.O.)

Vol. XCV-No. 12

NATROBI, 15th February, 1993

Price Sh. 15

GAZETTE NOTICE No. 623

## THE LOCAL GOVERNMENT ACT

(Cap. 265)

### NOMINATION OF COUNCILLORSE:

IN EXERCISE of the powers conferred by sections 45 (b), 39 (c) and 46 (b) of the Local Government Act, the Minister for Least Government of the persons whose names are indicated in the three column of the interest of the country of the state of the country of the state of the country of the state of the country of t for the respective local authorities named in the costild dolumn hereof:

### SCHEDING

Name of Nominated Councillor

Manuel of a Local Manhority

Joe Aketch John Walter Mutungu John Njiroine Konchellah Kenneth M. Njuguna Aleir Magaless Euriter Riprep Tom Mulamula Mwangi Meni Eric Pinkerton Benedict Mutiso Alexander Onono Alice Recor Notatini Talb Ibrahim Adan Isaac Berth Kitavi : S. Lalani

Festal Maggari

(LJN. 287/92)

Britisha William (Mis.) Molained Award Dokh Simon Rogers David Msechu Juma Swalch Shee Mohamed Bahero Aisha Busaidy (Mrs.) Elisha Miyogi District Compilationer, Mombasa

Provincial Commissioner, Nairobi

County Council (L.N. 288/92) Kwale-

Abdalla Sulleiman Tsembea Shee Hamisi Mwamwindi Hamen Gakurya. Ali Muanawi-Mwadingo

## SCHEDULB—(Contd.)

Name of Nominated Councilies

Name of Local Authority

Dissi Kirorezi Bakari Hemed Sheria Sarah Mulinge District Commissioner, Kwale

> Urban Council Kwale (L.N. 288/92)

Bakari Abdalla Yuwa District Commissioner, Kwale

Lanur County Council (LaN 293/98)

Ali A, Mahrus Abubakar Aboud Abubakar Sheikh M. Abdulkadir District Commissioner, Lamu:

Tana River County Council (L.N. 291/92)

Hassad Startiffed Islam Abdalla Masoud Esther Hajiro Rhigho Omar Tumu Mwanaidi Karhayu Galgalo
District Commissioner, Tana River

> Taita/Taveta County Council (L.N. 294/92)

Christopher Mode Nzano Angelina Peter Mwadime Peris Wanjala Mbogho District Commissioner, Taita/Tavetan

Martha Shigadi Joseph District Commissioner, Taita/Taveta

Council Voi Municipal (L.N. 295/92)

a Urban Council (L.N: 294/92) Taveta

Alexander Dhingiria District Commissioner, Taita/Taveta

> (L.N. 289/92) Council

Benjamin Kahindi Tysoki Albert Mulanda Luganie Samuel Jefwa Japhet Kavuku Constance Ziro Paul Nyambu Marko David Haro Beatrine Charv District Commissioner, Kilifi

#### SCHEDULE-(Contd.)

Name of Nominated Councillor

Name of Local Authority

Malindi Municipal Council (L.N. 292/92)

Joseph Kahindi Ndilo Mohammed Ali Kale Omar Khamis Balleth District Commissioner, Kilifi

> Kilifi Town Council (L.N. 290/92)

Janet Charo Thoya District Commissioner, Kilifi

Mariakani Urban Council (L.N. 289/92)

Awath Salim Awath District Commissioner, Kilifi

Garissa County Council (L.N. 296/92)

Mohammed Hassan Haji Ibrahim Hakar Jamaa Abdi Daudi Ali Mohammoud Idfle Elmi Hussein Guree Mohammed Samrie Saman Dagane Galal Abdi Haji Yussuf District Commissioner, Garissa

> Municipal Council of Garissa

Abdi Haji Dahir District Commissioner, Garissa

> Mandera County Council (L.N. 400/92)

(L.N. 297/92)

Abdulrahaman Hussein Mohamud Mohamed Haji Dahir Ahmed Ali Idow Ahmed Haji Yussuf District Commissioner, Mandera

Wajir County Council (L.IN. 298/92)

Bulle Sololo Osman Seinab Abdi Ali Ibrahim Mayow Mohammed Dayon Hassan Adan Ali Dagane Mohamed Osman Adan Ali Abdi Ali District Commissioner, Wajir

> Marsabit County Council (L.N. 309/92)

Hussein Aligele Dalacha Godana Aga Tuka Haji Adan Sarbo Dadio Kiyare District Commissioner, Marsabit

Isiolo County Council (L.N. 301/92)

Mohamed Guyo Jattani Buke Gollo Jattam Mohamed Sheikh Isadini District Commissioner, Isiolo

Meru County Council (L.N. 302/92)

Geoffrey Kajoi Justus Kabaya Gideon Mbiti M'Acci k M'Amuiri Stephen Thinkii Mucheke John Gichanaka Siba Mwobobia Mbul Adhia Malkathia Thambura Pana Mwagata se Kirew Aaron Mutwiri Muswika District Commissioner, Meru

> Meru Municipal Council (L.IN. 303/92)

John Kirimi Major A. S. Mbaya District Commissioner, Meru

### SCHEDULE—(Contd.)

Name of Nominated Councillor

Name of Local Authority Maua Municipal Council (L.N. 304/92)

Wilson Mancha Lithara District Officer, Igembe

Tharaka/Nithi County

Council (L.N. 305/92)

Blasio Mugo Gerald Murithi Nkaratu Stephen Kiraithe Patrick Nijema Mbuthi Zakayo Kamunde Mwiandi District Commissioner, Tharaka/Nithi

> Chuka Town Council (L.N. 306/92)

Erastus Mukunga Mutegi District Commissioner, Tharaka/Nithi

Chogoria Urban Council

(L.N. 305/92)

Jediel Micheu District Officer, Mwimbl

Embu County Council (L.N. 307/92)

Ežikoma Karuri (Rev.) Enos Niue Alexander Kiviu Kamunda Judith Rwamba (Mrs.) District Commissioner, Embu

> Embu Municipal Council (L.N. 308/92)

Ramadhan Njoka S. Mwaniki District Commissioner, Embu

Runyenjes Town Council (L.N. 309/92)

Mathew Njeru Njue M. Vuria District Officer, Runyenjes

Kitui County Council (L.N. 310/92)

Josephine Mwikali Mwile (Mss.) John Mwavu Nzunze Mwanzia Maingi Kitemaga Ndema Moris Musyoka Wanzik Pius Musinga Mwaka Mwamduka Kisemei John Makeku (Rev.) Justis Munyoki Kangangi Joseph N. Mueti District Commissioner, Kitui

Kitui Municipal Council (L.N. 311/92)

Joel Kilonzi Nzela Prancis Malombe Benjamin Kiema Mbuvi Juma Kaloo District Commissioner, Kitui

Mwingi Urban Council (LN. 310/92)

Council

John Ngui Ndana District Officer, Mwingi

Machakos Municipal

Jackson Mutisya Nzioki John Musyimi Emman Benjamin Mutiso District Commissioner, Machakos (L.N. 313/92)

John Musau Kilonzo Kieti Waita James Munguti Musyoka Mailu Nzinzi District Commissioner, Machakos

Masaku County Council (L.N. 312/92)

. Mavoko Municipal Council

Michael Ncheki ole Saoina Mary Mueni Mulandi District Commissioner, Machakos

Gideon Maundu Senga Stephen Savano Maveke District Officer, Kangundo Kangundo Town Council (L.N. 315/92)

(L.N. 314/92)

- (b) to take appropriate measures for speedy recovery of all loans and advances particularly insider loans;
- (c) in the event of liquidation, to ensure that small depositors have access to their money as early as possible;
- (d) taking into account the management and financial requirements, to determine the possibility of reconstructing, re-organizing and/or re-opening of closed banks or financial institutions;
- (e) in view of (d) ahove, to explore and determine ways and means of raising the necessary resources required to enable such re-opening;
- (i) to consider all legal ramifications to be dealt with as regards troubled banks and financial institutions and their assets and those of associated companies, and any other assets which might have heen financed by the bank or financial institution heing examined, and in particular the question of ownership interests where additional funding is to be provided from new sources;
- (g) to liaise with the various arms of government including law enforcement agencies to ensure that any evidence of wrong-doing by directors, officers and employees are brought to light for the enforcement of the law;
- (h) in view of the fact that substantial sums of parastatal money are at risk, to examine how such deposits were made, review the procedures for investment of such funds, and make appropriate recommendations;
- (f) lo make appropriate recommendations for preventive measures, including legislation, to avoid future recurrences of underlying problems in order to promote steady and stable growth of Kenya's financial system.

Dated the 15th February, 1993.

P. M. MBITHI,

Permanent Secretary, Secretary to
the Cabinet and Head of Public Service.