SPECIAL ISSUE



GAZETTE THE KEN

Published by Authority of the Republic of Kenya

(Registered as a Newspaper at the G.P.O.)

Vol. CVII—No. 79

NAIROBI, 16th November, 2005

Price Sh. 50

GAZETTE NOTICE No. 9143

Central

THE CONSTITUTION OF KENYA THE DISTRICTS AND PROVINCES ACT, 1992

(No. 5 of 1992)

NOTIFICATION OF INTENTION TO ESTABLISH DISTRICTS

IT IS notified for the information of the general public that, in accordance with the Constitution of Kenya, the Government, through appropriate legislation, intends to:

- (a) Establish the administrative areas specified in the First Schedule as districts; and
- (b) Legalize the establishment of the areas specified in the Second Schedule, which were administratively created on diverse dates between 1992 and 2002, as districts subject to any modifications thereof under paragraph (a).

FIRST SCHEDULE

(para. (a))

Nyanza

Province District Nairobi Area Nairobi East Nairobi West Nairobi North Kilindini Coast Kinango Kaloleni North Eastern Wajir North Wajir South Eastern Imenti North Imenti South Igembe Tigania Kibwezi Kitui North Kitui South Kangundo

Yatta Nyandarua North Nyandarua South Nyeri North Nyeri South Kiambu East Kiambu West Gatundu

FIRST SCHEDULE-(Contd.)

(para. (a))

Rift Valley Turkana North Turkana South Trans Nzoia East Trans Nzoia West Uasin Gishu North Uasin Gishu South Laikipia East Laikipia West Naivasha

Subukia Molo East Pokot

Kakamega North Western Kakamega South

Vihiga/Emuhaya Hamisi/Sabatia Webuye Sirisia

Rongo Kisumu South Kisumu North South Kisii Masaba

SECOND SCHEDULE

(para. (b))

Province District Coast Malindi

North Eastern Ijara

Moyale Eastern Meru South (Nithi)

Tharaka Mbeere Mwingi Maragua

Central Thika

Rift Valley Koibatek Marakwet Nandi North Nandi South Trans Mara Bureti

Nyanza

SECOND SCHEDULE—(Contd.)

(para. (b))

Butere-Mumias Western

Lugari Mt. Elgon Teso

Bondo Nyando

Suba Rachuonyo Kuria Gucha

Dated the 16th November, 2005.

MWAI KIBAKI, President.