SPECIAL ISSUE



THE KENYA GAZETTE

Published by Authority of the Republic of Kenya

(Registered as a Newspaper at the G.P.O.)

Vol. CXII—No. 68

NAIROBI, 14th July, 2010

Price Sh. 50

GAZETTE NOTICE NO. 8066

THE CONSTITUTION OF KENYA

THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY AND PRESIDENTIAL ELECTIONS ACT

(Cap. 7)

THE PRESIDENTIAL AND PARLIAMENTARY ELECTIONS REGULATIONS

DECLARATION OF BY-ELECTION RESULTS-MATUGA

IN EXERCISE of the powers conferred by the Constitution of Kenya and the National Assembly and Presidential Elections Act (Cap. 7) and the Presidential and Parliamentary Elections Regulations, the Interim Independent Electoral Commission certifies that Chirau Ali Mwakwere has been declared the winner of the Matuga Parliamentary Seat following the by-elections held on 12th July, 2010.

The Results of the By-election are as follows:

(a) Valid votes cast for Chirau Ali Mwakwere were (in figures) 16,350, (in words) sixteen thousand three hundred and fifty.

- (b) Total votes cast against the voters register were (in figures) 32,895, (in words) thirty-two thousand eight hundred and ninety five. Rejected votes (in figures) 359, (in words) three hundred and fifty nine. Total valid votes (in figures) 32,536, (in words) thirty-two thousand five hundred and thirty six.
- (c) Votes cast as per each candidate are as indicated in the schedule respectively.

RESULTS PER CANDIDATE

SCHEDULE

Name of Candidate	Valid Votes in Figures	Valid Votes in Words
Chirau Ali Mwakwere	16,350	Sixteen thousand three hundred and fifty
Mutula Isaac Masila	134	One hundred and thirty-four
Mwanyoha Hassan Mohamed	10,887	Ten thousand eight hundred and eighty-seven
Tandaza Kassim Sawa	5,165	Five thousand one hundred and sixty-five

Dated the 13th July, 2010.

A. I. HASSAN, Chairman, Interim Independent Electoral Commission. GAZETTE NOTICE NO. 8067

THE CONSTITUTION OF KENYA REVIEW ACT

(Cap. 3A)

THE CONSTITUTION OF KENYA REVIEW ACT (REFERENDUM) REGULATIONS, 2005

APPOINTMENT OF NATIONAL REFERENDUM COMMITTEES

IN EXERCISE of the powers conferred by section 38 of the Constitution of Kenya Review Act (Cap. 3A) and Regulation 12 of the Constitution of Kenya Review (Referendum) Regulations, 2005, the Interim Independent Electoral Commission specifies by this notice registration of the following National Referendum Committees and their respective team agents namely:

"YES" NATIONAL REFERENDUM COMMITTEES

1.	CMD-K Multisectoral Salvation Front	Chief Agent: Cyprian Nyamwamu Team Leader: Prof. Larry Gumbe
2.	The YES Green-Katiba for Change	Chief Agent: Hon. Anyang' Nyong'o Team Leader: Hon. Kiraitu Murungi

3. One Kenya "Yes" Secretariat

Chief Agent: Hon. Martha Karua Team Leader: Hon. Danson Mungatana

4. Urban Volunteers Organization Chief Agent: Stephen Nyagah Team Leader: Margaret Mliwa

"NO" NATIONAL REFERENDUM COMMITTEES

1. The Church Red Card National Referendum Committee

Chief Agent: Bishop Mark Kariuki Team Leader: Oliver Kisaka

Chief Agent: Hon, David Koech

Team Leader: Dr. Tom Namwamba

- "No" Red National Referendum Committee 2
- Muungano Wa Katiba Kombozi 3.

Team Leader: Njeru Kathangu

Chief Agent: Jane Njiru

IDEA Party Kenya 4.

Dated the 13th July, 2010.

Chief Agent: Patrick Mogambi Team Leader: Bernard Nyakundi

> A. I. HASSAN, Chairman, Interim Independent Electoral Commission.