SPECIAL ISSUE



THE KENYA GAZETTE

Published by Authority of the Republic of Kenya

(Registered as a Newspaper at the G.P.O.)

Vol. CXII—No. 82

NAIROBI, 18th August, 2010

Price Sh. 50

GAZETTE NOTICE No. 9707

THE CONSTITUTION OF KENYA
THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY AND PRESIDENTIAL
ELECTIONS ACT

(Cap. 7)

THE PRESIDENTIAL AND PARLIAMENTARY ELECTIONS REGULATIONS

ELECTION OF MEMBER OF PARLIAMENT

IN EXERCISE of powers conferred by section 41A of the Constitution of Kenya, section 13 of the National Assembly and Presidential Elections Act and Regulations 8 (3) and 14 of the Presidential and Parliamentary Elections Regulations, the Interim Independent Electoral Commission gives notice that:

- (a) An election is to be held of a member to serve in the National Assembly for Wajir South Constituency.
- (b) Each political party wishing to participate in the by-elections must finalize the nominations of its candidate on or before the 6th September, 2010.
- (c) The days for the nomination of the candidates for the parliamentary by-elections will be on 16th and 17th September, 2010, and nomination papers may be delivered by candidates to the Returning Officers of the said constituencies between the hours of eight o'clock in the morning and one o'clock in the afternoon and between the hours of two o'clock and four o'clock in the afternoon of the days.
- (d) If the parliamentary elections are contested, the poll will take place on the 13th October, 2010.

NOTES:

- The attention of candidates and persons subscribing nomination papers is drawn to the provision of part IV of the Presidential and Parliamentary Elections Regulations (Cap. 7. Sub. Leg.).
- A person guilty of an election offence will be liable to the penalties imposed by the Election Offences Act (Cap. 66) and to the disqualifications imposed by the National Assembly and Presidential Elections Act (Cap. 7).

Dated the 17th August, 2010.

A. I. HASSAN,

Chairman,

 $Interim\ Independent\ Electoral\ Commission.$

GAZETTE NOTICE No. 9708

THE CONSTITUTION OF KENYA

THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY AND PRESIDENTIAL ELECTIONS ACT

(Cap. 7)

THE PRESIDENTIAL AND PARLIAMENTARY ELECTIONS REGULATIONS

APPOINTMENT OF RETURNING OFFICERS—WAJIR SOUTH BY-ELECTION

IN EXERCISE of powers conferred by section 3 of the National Assembly and Presidential Elections Act and Regulation 3 (1) of the Presidential and Parliamentary Elections Regulations, the Interim Independent Electoral Commission appoints the persons specified in the second column to be Returning Officers for the constituency specified in the first column of the schedule.

Constituency Name of Returning Officer

Wajir South Abdi Sheikh Mohammed

Name of Deputy Returning Officer

Yusuf Mohamed Farah

Dated the 17th August, 2010.

A. I. HASSAN,

Chairman,

Interim Independent Electoral Commission.

GAZETTE NOTICE No. 9709

THE CONSTITUTION OF KENYA

THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY AND PRESIDENTIAL ELECTIONS ACT

(Cap. 7)

THE PRESIDENTIAL AND PARLIAMENTARY ELECTIONS REGULATIONS

APPOINTMENT OF LANGUAGE BOARD AND LANGUAGE APPEALS BOARD

IN EXERCISE of the powers conferred by section 41A of the Constitution of Kenya and in accordance with the second schedule of the Presidential and Parliamentary Elections Regulations, paragraph 1, the Interim Independent Electoral Commission appoints the following person to be members of the Language Board and Language Appeals Board, for the purpose of section 34 (c) of the Constitution, Wajir South Constituency By-election.

The appointments shall take effect from 31st August, 2010, to 15th September, 2010, which is the final date of formal nomination for parliamentary candidates.

Language Board—Ministry of Education Headquarters, New Jogoo House "B", 6th Floor, Room Nos. 607.

Enos O. Oyaya—(Chairman)

Members:

Mohammed Mwinyipembe Susan Njau Musa Wambua Susan Kapule

Language Appeals Board—Ministry of Education Headquarters, New Jogoo House "B", 6th Floor, Room Nos. 607.

George I. Godia (Prof.)—(Chairman)

Members:

Kiragu Magochi Agnes Odawa John Temba Salome Wenyaa

Dated the 17th August, 2010.

A. I. HASSAN, Chairman, Interim Independent Electoral Commission.