SPECIAL ISSUE



THE KENYA GAZETTE

Published by Authority of the Republic of Kenya

(Registered as a Newspaper at the G.P.O.)

Vol. CXXV-No. 6

NAIROBI, 11th January, 2023

Price Sh. 60

GAZETTE NOTICE No. 143

THE CONSTITUTION OF KENYA

THE INDEPENDENT ELECTORAL AND BOUNDARIES COMMISSION ACT

(No. 9 of 2011)

THE ELECTIONS ACT

(No. 24 of 2011)

THE ELECTIONS (GENERAL) REGULATIONS

(L.N. 128 of 2012 and L.N.72 of 2012)

DECLARATION OF PERSONS ELECTED IN THE BY-ELECTIONS HELD ON 5TH JANUARY, 2023

IN EXERCISE of the powers conferred by Articles 88 (4), 97 (1) (a), 98 (1) (a), 101, 177 (1) (a) of the Constitution of Kenya, section 4 of the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission Act, 2011, sections 39 (1), 1A and (1B) of the Elections Act, 2011, Regulations 83 (1) (e) and (f) and 87 (2) (b) and 3 (h) of the Elections (General) Regulations, 2012, the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission declares that the persons whose names are listed in the First, Second and Third Schedules hereunder were elected to the Senate, National Assembly and Lamu County Assembly having received the majority of the votes cast in the by-elections held on 5th January, 2023 and complied with the provisions of the Elections Act, 2011 and the Constitution.

FIRST SCHEDULE-MEMBER OF SENATE- ELGEYO MARAKWET SENATE

County Code	County Name	Surname	Other Names	Political Party Name	Abbrev.	Votes Garnered	
028	Elgeyo Marakwet	Kisang	William Kipkemoi	United Democratic Alliance	UDA	41,378	

SECOND SCHEDULE-MEMBERS OF THE NATIONAL ASSEMBLY

County Code	County Name	Constituency Code	Constituency Name	Surname	Other Names	Political Party Name	Abbrev.	Votes Garnered
007	Garissa	027	Garissa Township	Barrow	Dekow Mohamed	United Democratic	UDA	11,572
						Alliance		
021	Murang'a	109	Kandara	Njuguna	Chege	United Democratic	UDA	21,650
						Alliance		

THIRD SCHEDULE-MEMBER SHELLA WARD-LAMU COUNTY ASSEMBLY

County Code	County Name	Constituency Code	Constituency Name	CAW Code	CAW Name	Surname	Other Names	Political Party Name	Abbrev.	Votes Garnered
005	Lamu	022	Lamu West	0104	Shella	Mohammed	Atwaa Salim	Orange Democratic Movement	ODM	1,053

Dated the 10th January, 2023.

W.W. CHEBUKATI,

Chairperson,

Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission.