

GOVERNMENT GAZETTE

OF THE

REPUBLIC OF NAMIBIA

N\$0.94

WINDHOEK - 10 October 1997

No. 1701

CONTENTS

Page

1

PROCLAMATION

No. 19 General election for Local Authority Councils: Determination of days and places for submission of party lists and polling days for election

Proclamation

by the

PRESIDENT OF THE REPUBLIC OF NAMIBIA

No. 19

1997

GENERAL ELECTION FOR LOCAL AUTHORITY COUNCILS: DETERMINATION OF DAYS AND PLACES FOR SUBMISSION OF PARTY LISTS AND POLLING DAYS FOR ELECTION

Under the powers vested in me by section 48 of the Electoral Act, 1992 (Act 24 of 1992), it is hereby made known in terms of the provisions of section 50(1) of the said Act -

- (a) that I have determined, in terms of the said provisions -
 - (i) Friday, 24 October 1997, as the last day on which a list of candidates shall be submitted in respect of each local authority area mentioned in the first column of the Schedule hereto, for the nomination of candidates for election as members of the local authority council for that local authority area;

i,

- (ii) that the said list of candidates shall be submitted at the place mentioned in the second column of the said Schedule opposite the local authority area in question not later than 11h00 on that day; and
- (iii) that, in any of the said local authority areas, the poll shall be taken on 2 December 1997, which shall commence at 07h00 and shall close at 21h00 on that day; and
- (b) that the person whose name appears in the third column of the said Schedule opposite the name of the local authority area in question, has been appointed in terms of the provisions of section 51 of the said Act as returning officer at the election in that local authority area.

Given under my Hand and the Seal of the Republic of Namibia this 6th day of October, One Thousand Nine Hundred and Ninety-seven.

SAM NUJOMA President BY ORDER OF THE PRESIDENT-IN-CABINET

1

SCHEDULE

| Togol Authority area | | |
|---|----------------------------------|---------------------------------------|
| Local Authority area for local authority | Place where list of candidates | |
| | will be submitted | Returning Officer |
| council Arandis | Police Station, Arandis | D. Uwiteb, Box 456, Arandis |
| | | J. Beukes, Box 157, Aranos |
| Aranos | Magistrate Office, Aranos | |
| Aroab | Police Station, Aroab | H. Beukes, Box 145, Aroab |
| Berseba | Village Council Office | J. Tsei-Tseimau, P/Bag 2043, Berseba |
| Bethanie | Magistrate Office, Bethanie | S.R. vd Westhuizen, Box 4, Bethanie |
| Eenhana | Police Station, Eenhana | H. Mowah, Box 13174, Eenhana |
| Gibeon | Police Station, Gibeon | E. Gawanab, Box 106, Gibeon |
| Gobabis | Magistrate Office, Gobabis | B. Kgosimang, Box 1151, Gobabis |
| Gochas | Police Station, Gochas | A. Witbooi, Box 52, Gochas |
| Grootfontein | Magistrate Office, Grootfontein | F. Nauseb, Box 856, Grootfontein |
| Henties Bay | Police Station, Henties Bay | C.D.P. Visser, Box 166, Henties Bay |
| Kalkrand | Police Station, Kalkrand | M.E. Zaal, Box 74, Kalkrand |
| Kamanjab | Magistrate Office, Kamanjab | M. Mutrifa, Box 92, Kamanjab |
| Karasburg | Magistrate Office, Karasburg | C. Kardendal, Box 392, Karasburg |
| Karibib | Magistrate Office, Karibib | F. Awala, House C14, USAB |
| Katima Mulilo | Magistrate Office, Katima Mulilo | A.M. Matengu, Box 630, Katima Mulilo |
| Keetmanshoop | Magistrate Office, Keetmanshoop | F.J. Appollus, Box 1430, Keetmanshoop |
| Khorixas | Magistrate Office, Khorixas | R. Coetzee, Khorixas, Box 273 |
| Köes | Police Station, Köes | F.A. Swartbooi, Box 66, Koës |
| Leonardville | Police Station, | A.P. Lucas, Box, 65, Leonardville |
| Lüderitz | Magistrate Office, Lüderitz | M. Namwaapo, Box 339, Lüderitz |
| Maltahöhe | Magistrate Office, Maltahöhe | J. Swartbhooi, Box 81, Maltahöhe |
| Mariental | Magistrate Office, Mariental | G. Kooper, Box 714, Mariental |
| Okahandja | Magistrate Office, Okahandja | I. Mbuende, Box 844, Okahandja |
| Okakarara | Magistrate Office, Okakarara | B. Katjizeu, Box 111, Okakarara |
| Omaruru | Magistrate Office, Omaruru | R. Dausas, Box 21, Omaruru |
| Ondangwa | Magistrate Office, Ondangwa | A.P. Kuwa, Box 1270, Ondangwa |
| Ongwediva | Village Council, Office | L. Kuutondokwa, Box 493 |
| Opuwo | Magistrate Office, Opuwo | G. Katjikuine, Box 32, Opuwo |
| Oshakati | Magistrate Office, Oshakati | I. Adolf, Box 1357, Oshakati |
| Otavi | Magistrate Office, Otavi | N.C. Ntinda, Box 398, Otavi |
| Otjiwarongo | Magistrate Office, Otjiwarongo | S.P. Nuukushu, Box 476 |
| Outjo | Magistrate Office, Outjo | G. Nawaseb, Box 348, Outjo |
| Rehoboth | Magistrate Office, Rehoboth | B.M. Dentlinger, Box 2500, Rehoboth |
| Rundu | Magistrate Office, Rundu | P.S. Ihemba, Box 163, Rundu |
| Stampriet | Police Station Stampriet | L.L. Minnaar, Box 2, Stampriet |
| Swakopmund | Magistrate Office, Swakopmund | A.V. Van Wyk, Box 3919, Swakopmund |
| Tses | Police Station, Tses | H. Katjito, P/Bag 2060 |
| Tsumeb | Magistrate Office, Tsumeb | L. Sakatumbo, Box 580, Tsumeb |

3

)

| Usakos | Magistrate's Court, Usakos | A Keib, P O Box 265, Usakos |
|------------|--------------------------------|-------------------------------------|
| Uutapi | Police Station, Uutapi | A N Shinene, P O Box 71, Uutapi |
| Walvis Bay | Magistrate's Court, Walvis Bay | W Kartyoa, P O Box 3263, Walvis Bay |
| Windhoek | Magistrate's Court, Windhoek | C G Basson, P O Box 22569, Windhoek |
| Witvlei | Police Station, Witvlei | M Oais, P O Box 5, Witvlei |

л,