Supplement to Official Gazette No. 21, Vol. 63, 22nd April, 1976-Part B

L.N. 21 of 1976

STATES (CREATION AND TRANSITIONAL PROVISIONS) **DECREE 1976**

(1976 No. 12)

States Boundaries Adjustment Commission (Appointment) **Order 1976**

In exercise of the powers conferred by section 4 of the States (Creation and Transitional Provisions) Decree 1976, and of all other powers enabling it in that behalf, the Supreme Military Council hereby makes the following Order :--

1.-(1) There is hereby appointed a States Boundaries Adjustment Commission (hereinafter referred to as "the Commission" for the purposes of section 4 (1) of the States (Creation and Transitional Provisions) Decree 1976.

(2) The Commission shall consist of the following members :--

(a) MR JUSTICE M. NASIR, who shall be chairman, and

(b) MR J. D. OGUNDERE,

(c) MR R. O. COKER,

(d) MR G. MENKITI,

0

(e) MR O. E. IKPI, and

(f) MR A. OBEYA,

2. The terms of reference of the Commission shall be as set out in the Schedule to this Order.

3. This Order may be cited as the States Boundaries Adjustment Commission (Appointment) Order 1976.

SCHEDULE

TERMS OF REFERENCE

The terms of reference of the Commission are as follows :

1. To examine the boundary adjustment problems identified by the Irikefe Panel on the Creation of States and, in particular, look into the following areas :

(i) the Egbema villages in Rivers and Imo States ;

(ii) the Ndoki areas in Rivers, Cross River and Imo States ;

(iii) Awarra/Asa and Umuakpu clan in Oguta Division ; Amala, Aiulu, Oburu, Mbano and Obokwe Community Council areas in Owerri Division in Imo State :

(iv) Ette in Igbo-Eze Division, Olumbanasa and Ozam in Anambra Division in Anambra State ;

(v) the Ofe-Omuma in Aba Urban Division ;

Appointment of States Boundaries Commission.

Terms of reference.

Citation.

(vi) the villages of Ikot Ibana, Ikot Utin, Ikot Uko, Ikot Ebok, Ikot Ekpeyong, Ikot Umo Essien, Ikot Ineme and Okot in Ikot Ekpene Division of the Cross River State;

(vii) the Obotme-Arochukwu boundaries in the Imo and Cross River States ;

(viii) the Itu Mbanuso Clan in the Cross River State ;

(ix) the Biase administrative district in the Akamkpa Division of Cross River State ;

(x) the Erei Clan in the Cross River and Imo States ;

(xi) the Itigidi-Agbo Clan in the Cross River State ;

(xii) the Osopon Clan in Obubra Division in Cross River State ;

(xiii) the villages of Sobe and Iyagba in Ondo State ;

(xiv) the Ikales of the Arijan Community in Okitipupa Division in Ondo State.

2. The Commission is to specify which areas of Andoni and Nkoto in Opobo Division of Cross River State should be in the Rivers State and which areas of Ndoni should form part of the Rivers and which Ndoni areas, if any, should become part of Imo State.

3. To investigate and define the boundaries of any other area, district or division which may be brought to the notice of the Commission.

4. To define inter-state boundaries especially in cases of inter-governmental official disputes ; and

5. Make appropriate recommendations on (1)-(4) above and on any other matters incidental to boundary adjustment in the new States structure.

DATED at Lagos this 11th day of March 1976.

A. A. Ayida,

Secretary to the Federal Military Government