S.I. 21 of 1981

REGULATED AND OTHER PROFESSIONS (MISCELLANEOUS PROVISIONS) ACT 1978

(1978 No. 5)

Regulated and Other Professions (Exemption)

Order 1981

Commencement: 11th November 1981

In exercise of the powers conferred by section 2 of the Regulated and Other Professions (Miscellaneous Provisions) Act 1978, and of all other powers enabling me in that behalf, I, Shehu Usman Aliyu Shagari, President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria and Commander-in-Chief of the Armed Forces of the Federation, hereby make the following Order:—

1. The persons mentioned in the first column in the Schedule hereto and whose professions are specified in the second column thereof are hereby exempted from the provisions set out in Part I of the Regulated and Other Professions (Miscellaneous Provisions) Act 1978.

Exemption of certain persons from Part I of Act No. 5 of 1978.

2. This Order may be cited as the Regulated and Other Professions (Exemption) Order 1981.

Citation.

SCHEDULE

Exempted Person						Profession
J. M. Kondon		• •	•••			Legal Practitioner
D. C. Ugwu						Legal Practitioner

MADE at Lagos this 11th day of November 1981.

SHEHU USMAN ALIYU SHAGARI, President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria

LEGAL PRACTITIONERS ACT 1975

Legal Practitioners' Privileges Committee (Appointment of Certain Members) Notice 1981

Commencement: 21st January, 1982

Whereas by section 5 (4) of the Legal Practitioners Act 1975 as amended it is provided that the members of the Legal Practitioners' Privileges Committee under paragraphs (c), (e) and (g) of section 5 (3) thereof shall be appointed by the Chief Justice of Nigeria in consultation with the Attorney-General of the Federation:

Now, THEREFORE, I, Atanda Fatayi-Williams, Chief Justice of Nigeria, in exercise of the powers conferred on me as aforesaid and after consultation with the Attorney-General of the Federation hereby give the following Notice:—

Appointment of certain members of the Privileges Committee. 1975 No. 15 1977 No. 40 1977 No. 67

Citation.

- 1. In pursuance of section 5 (4) of the Legal Practitioners Act 1975 (as substituted by the Legal Practitioners (Amendment) Act 1977 and further amended by the Legal Practitioners (Amendment) (No. 2) Act 1977), the persons specified in the Schedule hereunder are hereby appointed as members of the Legal Practitioners' Privileges Committee in substitution for the persons specified in the Schedule to Statutory Instrument No. 1 of 1980.
- 2. This Notice may be cited as the Legal Practitioners' Privileges Committee (Appointment of Certain Members) Notice 1981.

SCHEDULE

- 1. The Hon. Justice A. G. Irikefe, O.F.R., C.O.N., Justice of the Supreme Court.
- 2. The Hon. Justice M. Buba-Ardo, C.F.R., Chief Judge of Gongola State.
- 3. The Hon. Justice E. B. Craig, c.o.n., Chief Judge of Ogun State.
- 4. The Hon. Justice C. A. Oputa, Chief Judge of Imo State.
- 5. The Hon. Justice D. G. Douglas, Chief Judge of Rivers State.
- 6. The Hon. Justice D. Musdapher, Chief Judge of Kano State.
- 7. T. A. Bankole Oki, Esq., o.o.n., s.a.n.
- 8. Kehinde Sofola, Esq., s.A.N.
- 9. E. A. Molajo, Esq., s.A.N.
- 10. Chief Olisa Chukura, s.A.N.
- 11. Chief G. C. M. Onyiuke, S.A.N.

GIVEN at Lagos this 1st day of December, 1981.

A. FATAYI-WILLIAMS Chief Justice of Nigeria