Supplement to Official Gazette No. 57, Vol. 71, 4th October, 1984-Part B

S.I. 40 of 1984

SPECIAL TRIBUNAL (MISCELLANEOUS OFFENCES) DECREE 1984

(1984 No. 20)

Instrument Constituting Tribunals for the Trial of Offences under the Special Tribunal (Miscellaneous Offences) Decree 1984

WHEREAS by section 1 (1) of the Special Tribunal (Miscellaneous Offences) Decree 1984 the Head of the Federal Military Government is empowered whenever occasion demands, by order, to constitute for any State or a number of States in the Federation specified in such order, a tribunal for the purpose of the trial of offences under the said Decree :

AND WHEREAS by section 2 (2) of the Decree it is provided that a Tribunal appointed under the Decree shall consist of—

(a) a Chairman who shall be a Judge of the Federal High Court, the High Court of the Federal Capital Territory or the High Court of a State; and

(b) three members of the armed forces not below the rank of a major or its equivalent and a police officer :

Now, THEREFORE, I, MAJOR-GENERAL MUHAMMADU BUHARI, Head of the Federal Military Government, Commander-in-Chief of the Armed Forces of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, in exercise of the powers conferred upon me by section 1 (1) of the Special Tribunal (Miscellaneous Offences) Decree 1984, and of all other powers enabling me in that behalf, hereby constitute and appoint five Zonal tribunals comprising the Chairman and members specified in the first and second columns respectively in the Schedule to this instrument and each zone shall comprise the territories set out in the third column of the said Schedule.

SCHEDULE

Members

1. Mr Justice Adebayo Desalu

Chairman

1. Major S. Ahma

- 2. Squadron-Leader B. O. Obadan
- 3. Chief Superintendent of Police O. J. Ekama
- 4. Lieutenant-Commander R. E. Tawo

2. Mr Justice Lekan Lajide

- 1. Squadron-Leader C. S. Vandu
- 2. Major J. Opasanmi
- 3. Chief Superintendent of Police O. Amusan
- 4. Lieutenant-Commander L. O. B. Agbaje

Oyo, Ogun, Ondo, Bendel

Ibadan Zone

and Kwara States

Lagos State

Zone

Lagos Zone

.

B 118

3. Mr Justice A. R. Soluade

- 1. Squadron-Leader P. A. Oladipo
- 2. Lieutenant-Commander M. A. Disu
- 3. Major D. M. Idoko
- 4. Superintendent of Police M. Samuel

4. Mr Justice F. N. Onwuegbuzie

1. Squadron-Leader A. Ekehon 2. Lieutenant-Commander E. A. Coker 3. Major A. Umaru

4. Superintendent of Police D. Sasare

5. Mr Justice O. Opene

1. Squadron-Leader . E. E. Aebeh

2. Major I. A. Auche

GIVEN AND ISSUED under my hand at Lagos this 28th day of August 1984.

3. Superintendent of Police P. Sadoh

4. Lieutenant-Commander J. C. Uwajeh

Kano, Sokoto, Borno and Gongola States

Kano Zone

Anambra, Imo, Cross-River and Rivers States

Port Harcourt Zone

MAJOR-GENERAL M. BUHARI, Head of the Federal Military Government, Commander-in-Chief of the Armed Forces, Federal Republic of Nigeria

Kaduna, Bauchi, Niger, Plateau, Benue and the Federal Capital Territory

Kaduna Zone