

Vol. 450

Pretoria, 10 December 2002 No. 24160







0800-0123-22 Prevention is the cure

CONTENTS

No.

Page Gazette No. No.

GOVERNMENT NOTICE

Education, Department of

Government Notice

24160

GOVERNMENT NOTICE

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

No. 1563

10 December 2002

SOUTH AFRICAN QUALIFICATIONS AUTHORITY ACT, 1995 (ACT NO. 58 OF 1995)

EXTENSION OF THE TERM OF OFFICE OF THE CURRENT MEMBERS SERVING ON THE SOUTH AFRICAN QUALIFICATIONS AUTHORITY FOR THE PERIOD, 1 DECEMBER 2002 UNTIL 30 NOVEMBER 2003

The Minister of Education in consultation with the Minister of Labour, has in terms of Section 4(4) of the South African Qualifications Authority Act, 1995 (Act No. 58 of 1995), decided that due to the review of the National Qualifications Framework (NQF), to extend the term of office of the following persons as members of the Second South African Qualifications Authority for a year, namely for the period 1 December 2002 - 30 November 2003, or until such date as determined by him for the implementation of the NQF Study Team's proposals:

1. CHAIRPERSON

Dr M. Nkomo, Executive Director: Education and Training: Human Sciences Research Council (HSRC).

2. MEMBERS

2.1 Members nominated by constituencies in accordance with the provisions as stipulated in Section 4(3)(a-p) of the South African Qualifications Authority Act, 1995 (Act No. 58 of 1995):

NOMINEE	CONSTITUENCY	BACKGROUND
Mr K. Lehoko	Department of	Deputy Director-General: Further
	Education	Education and Training. Nominated by the
¥1		Director-General: Education.
Ms A. Bird	Department of	Deputy Director-General: employment
	Labour	and Skills Development Services and
₹ ₂		Human Resource Development.
		Nominated by the Director-General:
9		Labour.
Mr K. Hall	Organised Business	Training and Development Manager at
5 X		Eskom
Prof. W. Gevers	South African	Senior Deputy Vice Chancellor, UCT.
11021 111 001012	Universities' Vice-	The state of the s
	Chancellors'	4 2 2
X 8	Association	
	(SAUVCA)	
Mr D. George	Organised Labour	Assistant General-Secretary, FEDUSA.
Prof. N. Kok	Committee of	Senior Vice Rector: Academic, Cape
1101. IV. IXOX	Technikon Principals	Technikon.
	(CTP)	1 Common.
Mr L. Giba	Organised Labour	National Education Officer at the Food and
IVII L. Giba	Organised Labour	Allied Workers Union.
Mr S. Morotoba	National Skills	Executive Officer: NSA.
IVIT S. IVIOTOTODA		Executive Officer: NSA.
Ms S. Müller	Authority (NSA) National	Donuty Director NA DTOSA
IVIS S. Muller	Professional	Deputy Director, NAPTOSA
	A company of an experience	
	Teachers'	
	Organisation of	
g. 1 3	South Africa	
D CII	(NAPTOSA)	TT 1 CT : E1 : E
Prof. H.	Provincial Education	Head of Limpopo Education Department.
Nengwekhulu	Departments	D 1 000
Ms R. Omar	Distance Education	Research Officer at the University of the
16 6 6 7	NT 11 11	Witwatersrand
Mr S. Ori	National bodies	Head: Cooperative Education, M L Sultan
	representing	Technikon.
	lecturers	
Ms M. van Rooyen	Training	Chairperson of the Alliance of Private
		Providers of ETD (APPETD).
Ms S. Matsebula	Special Education	Office of the Status of Disabled Persons,
	Needs Sector	Office of the Presidency.
Mr M. J. Komana	Committee of	Rector of the Dr C. N. Phatudi College of
3	Colleges of	Education in Burgersfort.
	Education Rectors of	
	South Africa	
	(CCERSA)	a v

NOMINEE	CONSTITUENCY	BACKGROUND	
Ms O. Zungu	Early Childhood Development (ECD)	Head of Training at Woz'obona, Early Childhood Community Service Group.	
Ms S. Steenekamp	Committee of Technical College Principals of South Africa (CTCP)	Managing Director: Company Unlimited	

Discretionary appointments (not exceeding six) as stipulated in Section 4(3)(q) of the South African Qualifications Authority Act, 1995 (Act No. 58 of 1995):

	NOMINEE	BACKGROUND	
1.	Mr D.Adler	Retired/Consultant	
3.	Dr P.Lolwana	Chief Executive Officer: Umalusi.	
4.	Ms P. Tyobeka	Chief Director: Department of Education	
5.	Mr S. Xulu	Chief Executive: Transnet Training Board	
6	Mr K. Mockler	Retired/Consultant.	

Co-opted members (not exceeding two) as stipulated in Section 4(3)(r) of the South African Qualifications Authority Act, 1995 (Act No. 58 of 1995):

	NOMINEE	BACKGROUND
1.	Prof. T. Voogt	Associate Professor in Accounting at the Rand Afrikaans
		University

3. EX OFFICIO MEMBER

Mr S. B. A. Isaacs: Chief Executive Officer of SAQA.

Prof. Kader Asmal, MP Minister of Education

Dog ate your Gazette? ... read it online



www.SA Gazettes.co.za

A new information Portal keeping you up to date with news, legislation, the Parliamentary programme and which is the largest pool of SA Gazette information available on the Web.

- · Easily accessible through the www!
 - Government Gazettes from January 1994
 - Compilations of all Indexes pertaining to the past week's Government Gazettes
 - All Provincial Gazettes from September 1995
 - Parliamentary Bills as of January 1999
- Available in full-text, with keyword searching
- Sabinet Online scans, formats, edits and organize information for you. Diagrams and forms included as images.
- No stacks of printed gazettes all on computer. Think of the storage space you save.
- Offers Bill Tracker complementing the SA Gazettes products.

For easy electronic access to full-text gazette info, subscribe to the SA Gazettes from Sabinet Online. Please visit us at www.sagazettes.co.za



Tel: (012) 643-9500, Fax: (012) 663-3543, Toll free: 0800 11 8595, e-mail: corporate@sabinet.co.za, www. http://corporate.sabinet.co.za



Looking for back copies and out of print issues of the Government Gazette and Provincial Gazettes?

The National Library of SA has them!

Let us make your day with the information you need ...

National Library of SA, Pretoria Division PO Box 397 0001 PRETORIA

Tel.:(012) 321-8931, Fax: (012) 325-5984

E-mail: infodesk@nlsa.ac.za



Soek u ou kopieë en uit druk uitgawes van die Staatskoerant en Provinsiale Koerante?

Die Nasionale Biblioteek van SA het hulle!

Met ons hoef u nie te sukkel om inligting te bekom nie ...

Nasionale Biblioteek van SA, Pretoria Divisie Posbus 397

0001 PRETORIA

Tel.:(012) 321-8931, Faks: (012) 325-5984

E-pos: infodesk@nlsa.ac.za

Printed by and obtainable from the Government Printer, Bosman Street, Private Bag X85, Pretoria, 0001
Publications: Tel: (012) 334-4508, 334-4509, 334-4510
Advertisements: Tel: (012) 334-4673, 334-4674, 334-4504
Subscriptions: Tel: (012) 334-4735, 334-4736, 334-4737
Cape Town Branch: Tel: (021) 465-7531

Gedruk deur en verkrygbaar by die Staatsdrukker, Bosmanstraat, Privaatsak X85, Pretoria, 0001
Publikasies: Tel: (012) 334-4508, 334-4509, 334-4510
Advertensies: Tel: (012) 334-4673, 334-4674, 334-4504
Subskripsies: Tel: (012) 334-4735, 334-4736, 334-4737
Kaapstad-tak: Tel: (021) 465-7531

24160—1