

No. Page Gazette No. No. GENERAL NOTICES Independent Electoral Commission General Notices 1906 Local Government: Municipal Electoral Act (27/2000): Electoral Commission: Election timetable 3 26758 1907 do.: Municipal by-elections: Official list of voting stations 5 26758

GENERAL NOTICES

NOTICE 1906 OF 2004

ELECTORAL COMMISSION

ELECTION TIMETABLE

The Electoral Commission hereby gives notice that it has in terms of section 11 of the Local Government : Municipal Electoral Act, 2000, compiled the election timetable set out below to apply to the municipal by-elections to be held on 22 September 2004 in respect of Ward 11 of the Umhlabuyalingana Municipality [KZ271- Emangusi], Ward 59 of the Ethekwini Municipality [Durban Metro], Ward 14 of the Umhlatuze Municipality [KZ282 – Richards Bay] as well as Ward 11 of the Ndwedwe Municipality [KZ293] as proclaimed by Provincial Notice numbers 1031, 1032, 1033, 1034 of 2004 as published in the Provincial Gazette Extraordinary of the KwaZulu-Natal Province, No. 6284, dated 27 August 2004, respectively. A reference to "section" in this election timetable is a reference to that section in the Local Government : Municipal Electoral Act, 2000 (Act No. 27 of 2000).

Cut-off time for act to be performed

1 An act required in terms of this Act to be performed by not later than a date in the election timetable must be performed before 17:00 on that date, unless otherwise specified.

Certification of the voters'roll

2 By 31 August 2004 the chief electoral officer must certify the segments of the voters' roll for the voting districts to be used in the by-elections in terms of section 6(2) (a).

Notice that lists of addresses of voting stations are available for inspection

3 By 31 August 2004 the chief electoral officer must give notice that copies of a list of voting stations and their addresses will be available for inspection at the office of the Commission's local representative in terms of section 19(5).

Notice of route of mobile voting stations

4

If the Commission decides to use mobile voting stations in the byelections, the Commission must by 31 August 2004 give notice of the route, including the locations and estimated times of stopping of each mobile voting station in terms of section 22(1). 2

Cut -off date for nomination of ward candidates to contest an election

5 By not later than 7 September 2004 at 17h00, the nomination of a person to contest the by-election in a municipality as a ward candidate, must be submitted to the Commission's local representative on a prescribed form and in the prescribed manner in terms of section 17 (1).

Cut - off date for compilation and certification of ward candidate lists

6 By 9 September 2004 the Commission must compile for each ward a list of ward candidates, certify those lists for that by-election, and keep copies of the lists available at the office of the Commission's local representative in terms of section 18 (1).

Cut-off date for issuing certificates

3728.

7 By 10 September 2004 the Commission must issue to each ward candidate contesting the by-election, a prescribed certificate in terms of section 18(1)(d).

NOTICE 1907 OF 2004

ELECTORAL COMMISSION

MUNICIPAL BY-ELECTIONS 22 SEPTEMBER 2004

OFFICIAL LIST OF VOTING STATIONS

The Electoral Commission hereby gives notice in terms of section 19(5) and 22(1) of the Local Government: Municipal Electoral Act, 2000 (Act 27 of 2000), that copies of a list containing the address of each voting station as well as the route, including the locations and estimated times of each mobile voting station, will be available for inspection during office hours at:

- The office of the relevant Municipal Electoral Officer for each municipality where a By-Election is to take place, as listed below;
- The office of the relevant Provincial Electoral Officer at the designated venues listed below;
- The Head Office of the Commission at Election House, 260 Walker Street, Sunnyside, Pretoria.

By-Elections will take place in the following municipal wards:

- KwaZulu-Natal [eThekwini Durban Metro] Ward 59200059
- KwaZulu-Natal [KZ271 Umhlabuyalingana Emangusi] Ward 52701011
- KwaZulu-Natal [KZ282 Umhlathuze Richards Bay] Ward 52802014
- KwaZulu-Natal [KZ293 Ndwedwe Ndwedwe] Ward 52903011

The municipal venues designated for the inspection of the lists are:

Municipality	MEO Name	Address
Durban – Ethekwini [Durban Metro]	S O Cele	10 th Floor Metlife Building 391 Smith Street Durban
KZ271 – Umhlabuyalingana [Emangusi]	B Makhanya	Mhlabuylingana Municipality Manguza Road Manguza

6 No. 26758

GOVERNMENT GAZETTE, 31 AUGUST 2004

KZ282 – Umhlathuze [Richards Bay]	A W Heyneke	Civic Centre 5 Mark Strasse Richards Bay
KZ293 – Ndwedwe [Ndwedwe]	S V Zondi	Ndwedwe Municipality 100 Main Road Opp SAPS Ndwedwe

The provincial venues designated for the inspection of the lists are:

Province	Venue	Address
	e e a e	* ¹⁰ a a at
KwaZulu-Natal	Provincial Office of the Electoral Commission	9 th Floor Metlife Building
	200.5.5.5.2 1	391 Smith Street
a 1		Durban

1 diffice

Looking for out of print issues of Government and Provincial Gazettes

We can provide photocopies

Contact

The National Library of South Africa, Pretoria Campus PO Box 397 0001 PRETORIA

> Physical address C/o Andries and Vermeulen Streets Entrance in Andries Street

Contact details

Tel: (012) 321-8931 Fax: (012) 325-5984 E-mail: infodesk@nlsa.ac.za No. 26758

8 No. 26758

GOVERNMENT GAZETTE, 31 AUGUST 2004

Printed by and obtainable from the Government Printer, Bosman Street, Private Bag X85, Pretoria, 0001 Publications: Tel: (012) 334-4508, 334-4509, 334-4510 Advertisements: Tel: (012) 334-4673, 334-4674, 334-4504 Subscriptions: Tel: (012) 334-4735, 334-4736, 334-4737 Cape Town Branch: Tel: (021) 465-7531 Gedruk deur en verkrygbaar by die Staatsdrukker, Bosmanstraat, Privaatsak X85, Pretoria, 0001

Gedruk deur en verkrygbaar by die Staatsdrukker, Bosmanstraat, Privaatsak X85, Pretoria, 0001 Publikasies: Tel: (012) 334-4508, 334-4509, 334-4510 Advertensies: Tel: (012) 334-4673, 334-4674, 334-4504 Subskripsies: Tel: (012) 334-4735, 334-4736, 334-4737 Kaapstad-tak: Tel: (021) 465-7531