

	CONTENTS · INHOUD			
N o.		Page No.	Gazette No.	
	GOVERNMENT NOTICE			
Educati	on, Department of			
Governn	nent Notice			
105	National Education Policy Act (27/1996): Appointment of members to serve on a Ministerial Committee responsible for Mathematics and Mathematical Literacy		2725	3

GOVERNMENT NOTICE

DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

No. 105

4 February 2005

NATIONAL EDUCATION POLICY ACT, 1996 (ACT NO. 27 OF 1996)

APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS TO SERVE ON A MINISTERIAL COMMITTEE RESPONSIBLE FOR MATHEMATICS AND MATHEMATICAL LITERACY

- I Grace Naledi Mandisa Pandor Minister of Education, hereby in terms of Section 3(4)(d) of the National Education Policy Act, 1996 (Act No. 27 of 1996), relating to innovation, research and development in education, approved the establishment of a Ministerial Project Committee of mathematicians and mathematics educators to conduct the empirical assessment on Mathematics and Mathematical Literacy.
- 2. The Committee will assess the levels of complexity of Mathematics and Mathematical Literacy, to determine whether Mathematical Literacy is indeed at an acceptable level for entry into certain programmes in higher education.
- 3. The scope of the Committee will be in three key areas that require attention with regard to Mathematics and Mathematical Literacy. The Committee will investigate and report on the following issues:
 - > The level of complexity of Mathematics;
 - The level of complexity of Mathematical Literacy;
 - The extent to which specific levels of attainment in Mathematical Literacy should provide access into certain programmes that do not require knowledge of abstract Mathematical concepts; and
 - > The implications for implementation.

- The Committee is expected to submit a Report in February 2005 on all aspects of Mathematics and Mathematical Literacy.
- 5. The following members will serve on the Ministerial Committee for Mathematics and Mathematical Literacy:

NAME	CONSTITUENCY
Prof. S. P. Mashike	University of the North
Prof. J. D. Volmink	University of KwaZulu-Natal
Dr S. Nieuwoudt	University of Northwest
Prof. S. Mabizela	Rhodes University
Prof. G. Ellis	University of Cape Town
Prof. J. H. Webb	University of Cape Town
Prof. P. Pillay	University of KwaZulu-Natal
Mr A. Brombacher (Chair)	Private Consultant

Grace Naledi Mandisa Pandor, MP Minister of Education