

Vol. 558

Pretoria, 14 December 2011

No. 34868

IMPORTANT NOTICE

The Government Printing Works will not be held responsible for faxed documents not received due to errors on the fax machine or faxes received which are unclear or incomplete. Please be advised that an "OK" slip, received from a fax machine, will not be accepted as proof that documents were received by the GPW for printing. If documents are faxed to the GPW it will be the sender's responsibility to phone and confirm that the documents were received in good order.

Furthermore the Government Printing Works will also not be held responsible for cancellations and amendments which have not been done on original documents received from clients.

CONTENTS • INHOUD

No.

Page Gazette

GENERAL NOTICE

Cooperative Governance, Department of

General Notice

904 Local Government: Municipal Structures Act (117/1998): Policy framework for the designation of full-time councillors

34868

GENERAL NOTICE

NOTICE 904 OF 2011

DEPARTMENT OF COOPERATIVE GOVERNANCE

POLICY FRAMEWORK FOR THE DESIGNATION OF FULL-TIME COUNCILLORS

The Minister for Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs has, under section 18(4) of the *Local Government: Municipal Structures Act*, 1998 (Act No. 117 of 1998), and after consulting the MEC's for local government, determined the policy framework for the designation of full-time councillors, as set out in the Schedule.

SCHEDULE

The member of the Executive Council of a province responsible for local government may determine that councillors who have been elected or appointed to any of the following offices in a municipal council, may be designated as full-time:

CATEGORY A MUNICIPALITIES	
	Speaker;
	Executive Mayor;
	Mayor;
	Deputy Executive Mayor;
	Deputy Mayor;
	A member of an Executive Committee other than the Mayor and Deputy Mayor;
	A member of a Mayoral Committee;
	Chairperson of a Sub-Council;
	Chairperson of a Committee established in terms of section 79; and
	A single whip appointed for council.
CATE	CODY D MUNICIPALITIES
CATE	GORY B MUNICIPALITIES
	Speaker;
	Executive Mayor;
	Mayor;
	Deputy Executive Mayor;
	Deputy Mayor;
	A member of an Executive Committee other than the Mayor and Deputy Mayor;
	A member of a Mayoral Committee;
	Chairperson of a Committee established in terms of section 79 in municipalities with 40 or more
	councillors; and
	A single whip appointed for council in municipalities with 40 or more councillors.
CATEGORY C MUNICIPALITIES	
	Speaker;
	Executive Mayor;
	Mayor;
	Deputy Executive Mayor;
	Deputy Mayor;
	A member of an Executive Committee other than the Mayor and Deputy Mayor;
	A member of a Mayoral Committee;
	Chairperson of a Committee established in terms of section 79 in municipalities with 40 or more
	councillors; and

A single whip appointed for council in municipalities with 40 or more councillors.