

Vol. 650

August Augustus

2019

No. 42651

N.B. The Government Printing Works will not be held responsible for the quality of "Hard Copies" or "Electronic Files" submitted for publication purposes

ISSN 1682-5843



AIDS HELPLINE: 0800-0123-22 Prevention is the cure

# **IMPORTANT NOTICE:**

THE GOVERNMENT PRINTING WORKS WILL NOT BE HELD RESPONSIBLE FOR ANY ERRORS THAT MIGHT OCCUR DUE TO THE SUBMISSION OF INCOMPLETE / INCORRECT / ILLEGIBLE COPY.

No future queries will be handled in connection with the above.

### Contents

No.		Gazette No.	Page No.
	Government Notices • Goewermentskennisgewings		
Transport,	Department of/ Vervoer, Departement van		
1084	National Land Transport Act (5/2009): Nominees eligible for appointment as members of the Transport Appeal Tribunal (Tribunal)	42651	4

# GOVERNMENT NOTICES • GOEWERMENTSKENNISGEWINGS

#### **DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORT**

NO. 1084 19 AUGUST 2019



# NOMINEES ELIGIBLE FOR APPOINTMENT AS MEMBERS OF THE TRANSPORT APPEAL TRIBUNAL (TRIBUNAL)

The Transport Appeal Tribunal (TRIBUNAL) is a creature of the statute established in terms of the Transport Appeal Tribunal Act, No. 38 of 1998.

Section 12 of the said Act provides that the Tribunal must consider an appeal noted with it in accordance with the National Land Transport Act, No. 5 of 2009 and Cross-Border Road Transport Act, No. 4 of 1998, whereupon the Tribunal may -

- i. Reject the appeal and confirm the act, direction or decision appealed against or
- ii. Uphold the appeal, set aside the act, direction or decision appealed against and :-
- iii. Substitute therefore any act, direction or decision which the PRE or Regulatory Committee, as the case may be, could have performed or given or
- iv. Refer the matter which gave rise to the appeal to the PRE or the Regulatory Committee, as the case may be, for reconsideration or
- v. Uphold the appeal partially and vary the act, direction or decision appealed against.

Consequently, the Transport Appeal Tribunal Act makes provision for the appointment of Tribunal members for the period of three years in order to execute the provisions of the said Act.

Therefore, the purpose of this notice is to inform the public that the following persons are eligible and being considered for Ministerial appointment as members of the Tribunal, namely:-

Mr Matome Boaz Masuku, Ms Ashi Baniparsadh, Adv Lufuno Nevondwe, Adv Eva Khosa, Mr Matete Matete, Adv Khensani Teffu, Mr Grant Son, Ms Penelope Paxton, Ms Mickey Mfenyana, and Mr Phumzile Songo.

Any person or organisation wishing to comment on the proposed appointment of the persons mentioned in the above must forward their comments to:

The Director-General, Department of Transport, Private Bag X 193, Pretoria, 0001, for the attention of Adv. MJ Makhaza: Deputy Director – Transport Appeal Tribunal Secretariat

Tel: 012 309 3204 / 076 354 1590, Fax: 086 572 9774, E-mail: <a href="mailto:MakhazaJ@dot.gov.za">MakhazaJ@dot.gov.za</a>

Printed by and obtainable from the Government Printer, Bosman Street, Private Bag X85, Pretoria, 0001 Contact Centre Tel: 012-748 6200. eMail: info.egazette@gpw.gov.za Publications: Tel: (012) 748 6053, 748 6061, 748 6065