

Government Gazette Staatskoerant

Vol. 689 10 November 20

November 2022

No. 47490

N.B. The Government Printing Works will not be held responsible for the quality of "Hard Copies" or "Electronic Files" submitted for publication purposes



2

AIDS HELPLINE: 0800-0123-22 Prevention is the cure

IMPORTANT NOTICE:

THE GOVERNMENT PRINTING WORKS WILL NOT BE HELD RESPONSIBLE FOR ANY ERRORS THAT MIGHT OCCUR DUE TO THE SUBMISSION OF INCOMPLETE / INCORRECT / ILLEGIBLE COPY.

No future queries will be handled in connection with the above.

Contents

No.		Gazette No.	Page No.
	GOVERNMENT NOTICES • GOEWERMENTSKENNISGEWINGS		
	Affairs, Department of / Tradisionele Sake, Departement van	47400	
2736	Customary Initiation Act (2/2021): Establishment of National Initiation Oversight Committee	47490	- 3

GOVERNMENT NOTICES • GOEWERMENTSKENNISGEWINGS

DEPARTMENT OF TRADITIONAL AFFAIRS

NO. 2736 10 November 2022

ESTABLISHMENT OF NATIONAL INITIATION OVERSIGHT COMMITTEE: CUSTOMARY INITIATION ACT, 2021 (ACT NO. 2 OF 2021)

I, Nkosazana Dlamini Zuma, Minister for Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs, under section 4(1) of the Customary Initiation Act, 2021 (Act No. 2 of 2021), hereby establish the National Initiation Oversight Committee (NIOC) as set out in the Schedule hereto and, as contemplated in section 4(2) of the said Act, for the term commencing on the date of publication of this Government Notice in the Government *Gazette* and ending on 30 June 2027.

Neruma

DR NKOSAZANA DLAMINI ZUMA, MP MINISTER FOR COOPERATIVE GOVERNANCE AND TRADITIONAL AFFAIRS DATE: 09 1 (- 2022

SCHEDULE

ESTABLISHMENT OF NATIONAL INITIATION OVERSIGHT COMMITTEE (NIOC) IN TERMS OF CUSTOMARY INITIATION ACT, 2021 (Act No. 2 of 2021)

Section of Act	Person, institution or department to designate member(s)	Persons designated and hereby appointed as members of the NIOC	
4(1)(a)	Three members of the National House, designated by the members of the National House from amongst themselves.	Ikosi V W Mahlangu	
		Nkosi L Mavuso	
		Kgoshigadi D A Ntwampe	
4(1) <i>(b)</i>	One Commissioner from the Commission for the Promotion and Protection of the Rights of Cultural, Religious and Linguistic Communities, designated by the Commission.	Dr S M Pheto (Designated by the Commission as NIOC member until 30 June 2024 whereafter the Commission will designate a Commissioner for the remainder of the term of the NIOC).	
4(1) <i>(c)</i>	One member from the Interim Traditional Health Practitioners Council of South Africa, designated by the Council from amongst the members contemplated in section 7(a), (b) and (i) of the Traditional Health Practitioners Act, 2007.	Member to be designated once the Council is established	
4(1) <i>(d)</i>	One senior official from the Department of Traditional Affairs, designated by the Minister responsible for traditional affairs.	Ms R S Mogaladi	
4(1) <i>(e)</i>	One senior official from the Department of Health, designated by the Minister responsible for health.	Mr F B Mbedzi	
4(1) <i>(f)</i>	One senior official from the Department of Women, Youth and Persons with Disabilities, designated by the Minister responsible for women, youth and persons with disabilities.	Ms S Tshabalala	
4(1) <i>(g)</i>	One senior official from the National Prosecuting Authority, designated by the National Director of Public Prosecutions.	Adv A Raletjena	
4(1) <i>(h)</i>	One senior official from the South African Police Service, designated by the National Commissioner of the South African Police Service.	Major General M J Mamothethi	
4(1) <i>(i)</i>	One senior official from the Department of Sport, Arts and Culture who has knowledge of cultural customs, designated by the Minister responsible for Sport, Arts and Culture.	Mr P Mthembu	

Printed by and obtainable from the Government Printer, Bosman Street, Private Bag X85, Pretoria, 0001 Contact Centre Tel: 012-748 6200. eMail: info.egazette@gpw.gov.za Publications: Tel: (012) 748 6053, 748 6061, 748 6065