A Laws.Africa project
7 August 2020

Mauritius Government Gazette dated 2020-08-07 number 97

Download PDF (552.3 KB)
Page 1
              OF MAURITIUS
                                                   Published by Authority

     No. 97              -                 Port Louis : Friday 7 August 2020             -        Rs. 25.00

General Notice No. 1104 of2020
                    Order made by the National Crisis Committee under section 16(2) of
                       the National Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Act
1.    WHEREAS the motor vessel Wakashio of Panama flag ran aground off Pointe D’Esny on 25 July,
      2020, at 19 31 hours local time, and has currently developed cracks which has resulted in an oil spill.
2.    NOW, THEREFORE, pursuantto section 16(2) oftheNational Disaster Risk Reduction and Management
      Act, the National Crisis Committee, after consultation with the Prime Minister, is hereby ordering -
      (a)     that no unauthorised person shall venture in the restricted areas specified in the Appendix or in
              any such other areas as the National Crisis Committee may deem necessary;
      (b)     the closure of any places as the National Crisis Committee may deem necessary.
3.    The Public is hereby informed that the National Emergency Operations Command will coordinate
      and monitor all response and recovery activities and it shall have such powers as may be necessary to
      discharge its functions.
4.    Members of the public are hereby reminded that where a person refuses to evacuate any restricted
      area, a police officer may use such reasonable force as may be necessary to remove that person from
      that area.
5.    Any person who contravenes this Order or any directions of the National Emergency Operations
       Command shall commit an offence and shall, on conviction, be liable to a fine not exceeding 100,000
      rupees and to imprisonment for a term not exceeding 2 years.
                                                                         NATIONAL CRISIS COMMITTEE
     07 August 2020

                                                  RESTRICTED AREAS
1.    The lagoon region from Bois des Amourettes Jetty along an imaginary line up to Le Chaland
2.    Pointe D’Esny, Pointe Vacoas, Pointe Jérome, Blue Bay Marine Park, Pointe Brocus, Falaise Rouge up
      to Mahebourg Waterfront and Rivière des Creoles public beach

By Authority: Government Printing Department, La Tour Koenig                                       97/08/2020 - 978
Page 2
Download full gazette PDF